Skinny Life sipping

You’ve made it to the end of Veganuary. Are you ready to go back to your old habits? Or continue thee plant-based diet throughout 2019? While we may be clued up on most of the restrictions, some of us have failed to consider the alcohol we drink, especially beer or wine.

While you might not necessarily associate veganism with beer, some of the most popular beers in the UK aren’t actually vegan-friendly. Many contain fish products in the form of Isinglass – a gelatine made using fish – which is a substance very likely used in the manufacturing process of your average pint.

Going vegan was predicted to be the biggest food trend of last year and the demand for meat free foods increasing by 987% in 2017[1]. At the end of 2018 there were set to be around 1.2m Vegans in the UK, and just 2 years ago that was 540,000 so it’s clear that an increasingly amount of people will be affected by many popular beer brands not being vegan.

Fortunately, the Skinny Lager, the 4% ABV Lager with only 89 calories is vegan-friendly, as well as gluten free and Kosher.

Launched in 2016 by Skinny Brands, Skinny Lager is the guilty pleasure you can enjoy without compromise – it’s great tasting with a fraction of the carbs and calories of other beers, and best of all, it’s vegan!

Many well-known brands including Fosters, Kronenbourg and Carling, as well as brewers Sharp’s and John Smiths aren’t vegan-friendly.

Managing Director Tom Bell said: “Alcohol isn’t the first thing you think of when you think of vegan products, so it not a surprise it can be overlooked. Isinglass is used mainly for aesthetics rather than the actual taste.

“It is really important for us that Skinny Lager is accessible to all, so that no one has to compromise if they fancy a drink. We want to tick as many boxes for our consumers as possible, and it’s no accident that Skinny Lager is vegan – we made a conscious effort when creating our product to make sure we can support as many different diets as possible.”

You can find Skinny Lager on the shelves in selected Asda, Tesco and Co-op stores. It’s also available online at Morrisons and Ocado.